Conversion to quadrotor (parts)

After having struggled to keep the vibration caused by two of the motors on the hexrotor down I decided to convert it to a quad, thus eliminating the two bad motors. Luckily the website that sells my hexrotor frame (www.cnchelicopter.com) also sells other frame configurations that use the same arms. This means that I am able to convert my hexrotor frame to a quadrotor frame simply by changing the center plates.
Because I was already paying for shipping I decided to pick up several other spare parts along with the body plates.
To complete the conversion I needed to reprogram my CRIUS SE. This was a problem as although I had an FTDI programmer, the FTDI power supply was shorted with the main rail (see First flight). This meant that I would have to reprogram the board via the ISP (in system programming) port. I found a USBasp AVR programmer for sale at www.hobbyking.com and, as with my other purchase, decided to order some additional parts along with it as the shipping was fixed.

 

My purchases from cnchelicopter:

XAircraft X450P Upper Plate

XAircraft X450P Lower Plate

XAircraft X450P Arms (one damaged a crash)

XAircraft X450P Feet

Xaircraft Hexa Upper Plate (cracked in a crash)

XAircraft X450P Motor Mounting Plate (one damaged in a crash)

XAircraft X450P Guide Ball Mounting Rod (current rod is not long enough to span the wider 90 degree angle of the quad arms)

Xaircraft Hexa Frame Electronics Mounting Plate (my current one has a GoPro mount attached to it that I can’t remove. Although designed for the hex frame, it fits on the quad and is larger than the quad version)

 

My purchases from hobbyking:

USBasp AVR Programmer

5 XT60 Female Connectors

4mm Banana plug to 6 x Male XT60 in parallel (because hobbyking was currently out of stock of their 5-piece bags of male XT60 connectors I decided to buy this adapter and cut the XT60s off)

Twin pack charge lead (2 x 3S)6S w/ XT60

Flat 26AWG servo wire 1mtr (R/B/W)

Turnigy Pure-Silicone Wire 14AWG (1mtr) RED

Turnigy Pure-Silicone Wire 14AWG (1mtr) BLACK

Turnigy 5mm Heat Shrink Tube – RED (1mtr)

Turnigy 5mm Heat Shrink Tube – BLACK (1mtr)

